Office of the Registrar
Campus Address
Hanover, NH
Phone: (603) 646-xxxx
Fax: (603) 646-xxxx
Email: reg@Dartmouth.EDU

Organization, Regulations, and Courses 2020-21

Divisions of the Faculty

For purposes of administration the Departments of the Faculty are grouped into three Divisions, as follows:


Arts and Humanities Sciences Social Sciences
Art History [ARTH] Biological Sciences [BIOL] Anthropology [ANTH]
Classics [CLAS]
Chemistry [CHEM] Economics [ECON]
English [ENGL] and Computer Science [COSC] Education [EDUC]
   Creative Writing [CRWT]
Earth Sciences [EARS] Geography [GEOG]
Film and Media Studies [FILM]
Engineering Sciences [ENGS] Government [GOVT]
French [FREN] and
Mathematics [MATH] History [HIST]
   Italian [ITAL]
Physics [PHYS] and Psychological and
German [GERM]
   Astronomy [ASTR]    Brain Sciences [PSYC]
Music [MUS]

Sociology [SOCY]
Philosophy [PHIL]

Religion [REL]

Russian [RUSS]

Spanish [SPAN] and

   Portuguese [PORT]

Studio Art [SART]

Theater [THEA]

Each of these Departments is represented by its Chair on the corresponding Divisional Council, which has general supervision over matters affecting the Division. Most of the Departments offer one or more majors.

A fourth division consists of the several Interdisciplinary Programs.