Office of the Registrar
Campus Address
Hanover, NH
Phone: (603) 646-xxxx
Fax: (603) 646-xxxx
Email: reg@Dartmouth.EDU

Organization, Regulations, and Courses 2017-18

Awards for Graduate Study

In addition to national and international fellowships and awards by graduate schools in the United States, Dartmouth College fellowships are awarded each year to seniors (and in some cases recent graduates of the College) who have done academic work of distinction and who are qualified to proceed to advanced study in graduate school or to pursue an independent project or research in the U.S. or abroad.

Appointments to the fellowships are made by the President of the College on the recommendation of the Committee on Graduate Fellowships. Application forms and information are available through Scholarship Advising. Normally applications for the Reynolds Scholarships must be completed in early February, and for other awards in March or early April.

The James B. Reynolds Scholarships for Foreign Study are based on a fund given by James B. Reynolds of the Class of 1890, and are awarded annually for projects or study abroad to Dartmouth seniors and graduates who are United States citizens, or to those who have made application for first citizenship papers in the United States. The awards are based on the intellectual ability and character of the applicants and on the value to the community of their program of study. The Scholarships may be used for study in any field in any foreign country, normally in affiliation with a recognized educational institution, and in any case in conformity with a definite program of study approved by the Committee on Graduate Fellowships. Additionally, programs of scholarly investigation or creative activity to be pursued independently abroad may be approved. The award is for one year only, for a sum of approximately $20,000.

Dartmouth General Fellowships are awarded with consideration of the financial need of the applicant as well as of her or his academic merit. Most awards are for up to one year of study or research in the United States or abroad. Grants may also be used for short-term post-graduate projects. The funds are awarded in varying amounts, normally not exceeding $5,500. The amount granted depends on the need of the candidate, taking into account other available sources, including fellowships and assistantships at graduate schools.

The Paul L. ’83 and Neil T. McGorrian Fellowship is awarded each year to a graduating senior whose proposal for foreign travel or study reflects the spirit that motivated the lives of Paul ‘83 and Neil McGorrian: a desire to learn about the world and to communicate that knowledge to other Americans, a passion for the truth, and the courage to face challenges. Paul died tragically while pursuing a career as a foreign correspondent in Pakistan, only months after the untimely death of his younger brother, Neil. Applicants must be United States citizens or permanent residents. Students who plan careers in some aspect of foreign affairs and cultures, including such fields as journalism, the arts, education, diplomacy, preservation of indigenous cultures, environmental work, humanitarian relief, and economic development, are encouraged to apply. The award of approximately $5,000 is for a period of two months to one year and is not renewable, but may be combined with other fellowships.

The William Hill Memorial Loan Fund has been established to provide financial aid for graduating seniors and recent graduates who are well qualified for graduate work and in need of financial assistance. Under its conditions, a student may apply to the Committee on Graduate Fellowships for a low-interest loan from this Fund.

The Alfred K. Priest Fellowships are awarded to Dartmouth graduates accepted into any graduate program at Harvard University, needing financial assistance beyond the amount available from Harvard. Fellows are named yearly, and each is awarded a stipend, not to exceed $10,000, which may be renewed annually until the completion of the advanced degree, not exceeding five years.

The Fred C. Scribner Jr. 1930 Fellowship, the Fred C. Scribner, Jr. 1930 and James H. Hamlen Fund Fellowship and the Charles H. Woodbury Class of 1897 Memorial Law Prizes are awarded each year to graduating seniors enrolling in law school. The Scribner Fellowships give preference to seniors from the state of Maine. The awards vary yearly, but are normally between $3,000 and $10,000 per award. The awards are non-renewable.

The H. Allen Brooks Traveling Fellowship is awarded each year to one graduating senior or recent graduate in the fields of architecture, urban planning, land conservation, historic preservation, architectural and urban history, and art history, who is committed to graduate work and a career in the above fields of study. The fellowship is intended to provide financial support for its recipient to study outside of a regular academic program. Fellowship recipients may study in any foreign country for one year. The stipend is currently $15,000, and the award is non-renewable.